god parenting: gift(s)?

======= Date Modified 18 39 2010 21:39:31 =======
======= Date Modified 18 32 2010 21:32:19 =======
This Sunday, I am going to be a God parent. Do any of you have any ideas for a good, useful, inexpenive present?

I don't want to buy him (the baby) a silver trinket that'll just end up stuck in a box, and he has loads of clothes handed down from his brother, so they're not needed either.

I thought about a posh bottle of champagne or port or something, that they can keep until he is 18. That's my only plan so far, and I'm not tremendously inspired by it.

Thanks in advance folks x

D

What about a nice mug? I got my nephews each a mug when I was godparent to them with an inscription on.

I chose that because I still have a mug from my godparents!

That's a really good idea Dan, thank you. I'll start looking into that.

R

I opened a bank account and put a small amount of money in it for my Goddaughter that she cannot access until she is 18. I'm not very good at choosing useful presents and figured this way I can add to it over the years for birthdays and Christmas. Hopefully when she is 18 it will be useful for education/travelling. I also got my nephew some premium bonds for his christening. :-)

S

Based on my personal experience I would get.....a nice cuddly teddy bear.

My godmother gave me one and I still have him (albeit sat on the side with a Communist beret on and a gun in his lap. He turned quite militant once he hit his twenties.) He (Ted) is my most treasured possession, partly because everything else I own is shite.

B

Quote From Slizor:

partly because everything else I own is shite.

That made me giggle.