I need to have a talk...

D

Now you lot have always been good with your advice on all sorts of issues. So here's one... how do you have a talk with someone about... well... wanting things to go to be more than just friends?

Things are going well but I'm in no hurry but at the same time I want to know whether I'm off the market or what's going on... I'm not very good at these kinds of things.

My head is very cold and logical and is usually at the forefront of anything I say. It's time my heart came out a bit more!

I'd say actions speak louder than words :p

B

I suck royally at matters of the heart and I suspect I always will. So BIG disclaimer.

If this is the guy you met recently that put you on cloud 9, isn't it a bit too soon? Sorry if tis someone else. My only caution is - u sure you wanna be the one to ask? Do so, if you're sure you havent got feelings yet. If you havent play safe and dont get feelings before anything really happens/in case they say no.

Others please for more optimistic feedback.

D

Sneaks, love the idea!

And Bug, I like to hear views from all sides! Yes it's the same guy but I'm not saying I want to just head into something, just kind of to talk about what direction things are going. I'm currently looking to change jobs and in the middle of interviews so that is main priority at the moment. But he seems to like me as much as I like him and it's great. I'm not necessarily looking for the big R word, but just a bit of an indicator what to do. I really don't want to screw it up...

B

I originally used to say follow your heart.

But, OMG, I have been SO, SO badly burnt, that I dare never follow my heart ever again.

That said - i also have noted (belatedly) that there is a whole lot of paraphernalia and protocols about these things in our cultures - all things I blissfully ignored in following my heart.