Shoe on the other foot

D

Hello everyone, I realise I haven't posted for a while but work and personal life has been rather manic of late... it's so nice to have a job I actually like doing and get to do some research and get to work at the cutting edge!

Anyway, I have a bit of a problem and wanted to get the usual great insights I get from people on here. It's been quite a while since I did my PhD but I haven't totally forgotten what it was like. But my partner (doing his PhD in final year) I am... well starting to resent a bit. I've made a lot of decisions and put my life on hold a bit whilst he finishes but the issue of a J O B keeps cropping up. When we talk about it, he keeps just pushing back further and further when he plans to get one. And then says he's been talking to other people (but not me) about these plans. I feel so excluded from what is a major decision for the both of us. Especially when I've turned down a good opportunity at work in order to stay here for him. But at the moment I just feel like marching into the guy's office and telling him I want to take it and just bugger off and be selfish.

I don't know what the answer is but it just makes me more and more irate thinking about it. I remember what it was like finishing my PhD but I was single at the time so only had myself to think of. I don't want to be selfish, normally I would have been but it's nice to have met someone I just really click with mostly. But not about this issue that's for sure!!!!

D

Maybe his mind is consumed by finishing his PhD and he can't get beyond that point. Communication is the key...

Quote From delta:

Maybe his mind is consumed by finishing his PhD and he can't get beyond that point. Communication is the key...

I was of the mindset when writing up that all I wanted to do was get finished. In the end I did get a job whilst writing up (post-doc at my PhD Uni.), however, there was more effort put into the write-up than the job.