Unemployment

P

I was wondering if anyone here has experienced prolonged unemployment after graduating?

I completed my bachelors in 2015 (physics), graduating with a first. I couldn't get onto a graduate scheme and ended up working stop-gap jobs (retail, temping, teaching assistant work).

I was then offered a full stipend to study an MSc in nuclear science. I completed that in 2019. It has now been a year since I graduated and I am stuck in the same situation again. I have applied for nuclear jobs but it is a very niche area and I lack experience. It seems that my only hope to enter the industry is to apply through graduate schemes but the competition is always fierce.

I have no network and no way to apply for jobs except online (which seems more pointless the more I do it). I contacted lectures at my old universities but no one could help me.

In September I will sit the GAMSAT and apply for medical school, but the odds are against me and at my age (32) I feel like it is my last chance. It feels ridiculous to say that as I still feel very young and inexperienced.

I don't know what to do. I don't see myself in teaching (due to pupil behaviour and other issues teachers face). I'm not afraid to study again but I am sick of it as I feel like I have spent my whole life studying...

P

Your age is certainly not the issue and you shouldn't be thinking about "last chances".
Neither is your 1st in Physics.

I think one of your problems might be that you are focussing on graduate training schemes.
Most companies in the UK are small to medium sized, would love to have a graduate in Physics and won't run a graduate training scheme.

It also sounds like you have lost faith in applying for jobs. That would certainly come through in your applications.

My advice would be to focus on small and medium companies. When your CV is going to the same companies as tens of thousands of other equally qualified applicants, you are basically getting lost in the noise.

T