3rd year and feeling fed up

R

Maybe it's the dismal weather we've been having lately but I'm really feeling completely and utterly fed up with my PhD. I'm in my 3rd year and will be going into 4th year in October and I still have so much of the actual research to do let alone writing about any of it. I've had a few set backs along the way, illnesses, transferring to a new uni (and moving 200 miles) a year ago to follow sup when he got a new job, technical issues and a bereavement. But I'm getting to the point where I feel like I'm running out of steam and just want this all to be over so I can move on with my life. I know I just need to get on with it but at the moment it's all just a bit overwhelming and I find that one or two days can go by with not much progress. I've agreed a target submission date with my sup of Feb and I need to have all of my experiments etc finished by Sept, I just don't seem to have to motivation to get it done and I don't know why.

Sorry for a bit of a miserable post, I just felt the need to vent.

U

I'm sorry to hear so much has happened ... life can really get in the way. And the length of the PhD can really wear you down. It can eventually become like Groundhog Day where each day just repeats itself. But chin up, you can make it if you take a step back, breathe and plan.

You need to break your PhD into as many micro tasks as possible. Such planning will be tedious, even scary, but once you have a time-line of what needs to be done and it becomes a matter of just checking the boxes, it'll be easier to begin with work. Paralysis often happens when you know you have to get something done, but it's just so completely overwhelming that even looking at it makes you sick.

Try to get your hands on this book. It'll tell you how exactly to come up with that plan. I mean it'll literally take you through the process step by step as though you had a therapist by your side (it's the only PhD book of its kind that I've come across!)