Advice Needed Regarding PhD Choices

M

Hi all, this is my first time on the Postgraduate Forum having signed up today. The reason for this thread is due to my indecision regarding the PhD I'm currently undertaking. First, some background:

I graduated with a 1st class degree in 2010 and completed my master's degree in 2011 with distinction. In 2013, I was awarded a fully-funded scholarship at a university to undertake a 4-year PhD course. At this point I was doing bar work and saw the PhD as a relatively good opportunity for me to enhance my career prospects further, potentially going into academia.

In the period between applying for the scholarship and being accepted I took up new job in healthcare (admin). I met some really good people and the pay was decent, especially when increments were added (i.e., night pay, weekend pay etc.,). Additionally, this position also offered me the scope to use my degree effectively in the NHS (my friend from undergrad, for example, got a job in a doctor's surgery on reception; 18 months later she is a research co-ordinator).

I'm currently approaching the 5th month of my first year. This year has primarily consisted of completing compulsory modules in order to make myself "research-ready" and continue with my PhD in the 3 years that follow. HOWEVER, I've been considering my decision since November and I just feel the PhD is not for me. I don't want a job in academia anymore, all I want is to be settled in life and be earning a decent living. The problem is, I'm overqualified as it is for the majority of jobs. I've had 2 interviews this year with no luck. I feel stuck because, on one hand, I want something other than the PhD and, on the other, I can't give it up because it is providing an income. In addition, I feel awful because someone with more desire should be in my position.

Any advice?! It would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

T

Hello,