Amid all this gloom...

H

We've seen the worst a PhD has to offer, does anyone have any amusing and inspirational snippets to add to acyually encourage people to do a PhD..?!

C

Actually I am going to be doing a session like this for MA students soon - so this thread will actually be rearch....the truths I shall tell them

Hell. Total Hell

O

Chris is correct. There is nothing else to say. It's hell. Please shut down the forum, everything has been said about this fantastic degree.

H

You lot are miserable. I'm going to sulk.

B

When I tell people what my thesis is about, and they go all quiet and then say "ooooh - that sounds amazing". That's definitely a high But it took me two years to get to the point where I didn't run for cover whenever somebody said, "So - what's your thesis about". But I am a humanities student ...

L

Hell, torture, overwork, stress, left me with addiction to sleeping tablets, never would have imagined it's going to be this hard, also feelings of wortlesness and low confidence.

Having said all that, someting makes me keep going. I have been on the verge of quiting number of times and at some point I might actually do it. Not yet though.

B

Doing a PhD beats being a goat herder in Basra!

On a serious note though ...

Although education should be a right ... it isn't! So, if you are ever lucky enough to be in a position where someone is actually offering you some money to study - give it serious consideration (although I grabbed it with both hands). Of course, if it makes you that miserable ... leave (worse things have happened at sea!).

S

I have on very rare occasion been told that my ideas are not completely pointless, and that my chapters sometimes have "some" good stuff in there. That has been the highlight of my PhD. Not being laughed out of the building. Whoopeedo

B

I know of several "Happy endings".