Any tips on marking essays?

P

I have a big pile of essays to mark and wondered if anyone had any advice. As I have posted previously, I am teaching a subject which is new to me so I'm worried that I won't know whether an essay is good or not because I'm not an expert on the topic. Some of the essays are on areas which have not been touched on in the seminars I run so I know even less about it. Obviously I can see where the grammar, spelling, sentence structure, referencing and arguments fall down. But if someone made a completely false statement about something I might not even realise!

S

I have been in this position. If you have time - it helps to read as many essays as you can first without really marking them. Use the essays to help compile an ideal essay plan. You should see the same items and examples appearing and might notice some contradictions. You could then check some or all the items quickly by searching online. Believe - by the end of all those essays - you really will be an expert!

C

I found reading through once and writing rough comments and giving a grade, then going back ovver them worked. It is a bit time consuming, but you do get an idea of what is right and wrong from looking at a few of them.

A

I always mark on the essays themselves in pencil, so if I realise I've made a mistake I can rub it out. Also, I read through a few and give them a ballpark grade so I can refresh my memory of the level they're working at, then rank the next few compared to those grades.

To stave off boredom and despair I try to rearrange them so I know I won't be marking ten on the same topic in a row (also, they start to blur together after a while and it helps if I'm alternating questions so I don't mix them up).

The only way I could motivate myself to do my marking this Easter was to go to Costa and have a massive slice of cake while I did the first batch

S

Yes - whenever I can't find my pencil you can be sure I will change my mind about the comment.