Anybody else pregnant??!!

C

Hi,
I'm a final year phd student and I'm pregnant (due in December) I am hoping to get my thesis and possibly the viva out of the way before my baby arrives. My supervisors have been great about it. Just wondered if anybody else has/is in the same situation.

C

Congratulations carolineE. Though i am not pregnant and never will, there has been a great post about this. Its worth checkinh it out.

http://www.findaphd.com/students/showmessage.asp?thread=4485&cat=3&threadpage=1&newview=1

O

I am! Due in December as well but unfortunatelly in my first year - perhaps if I spead up a bit I manage to hand in after one year (where is this face with the pscho laughter???)

A

That'd be a great way to do the Viva - heavily pregnant. If anyone asks any difficult questions just look as though you are about to burst into tears and watch them backtrack.

C

Hi,
It's good to know I'm not the only one! I'm lucky that I'm in my final year else things would be a lot harder. Just a bit stuck as I've had my last research grant payment now and no idea what maternity pay I'm entitled to.
That was my plan for the viva! My supervisor thinks it will definitly get me the sympathy vote!

J

Hello! congratulations! I am just completing my first year and really don't want ton have to wait for three more years until I have a baby but poeple say it would be a terrible idea to try and do both... I hope to get pregnant in my penultimate or final year - does anyone have any advice? I am funded so will get maternity leave etc which is fab - also have a partner who works from home so childcare would be shared. What do peeps think?! thanks in advance...

B