Anyone else here an international student/employee?

N

Hi all,

I found this forum a few weeks back and have been poking around since.

I'm an Australian doing a PhD in the Netherlands. I'm almost at the end of my first year and am currently preparing for my one-year review (audit). Progress has been slow due to:
* the issues involved with moving to a new country;
* I did my masters part-time whilst working (so for me research is more of a hobby than a job);
* I'm in a completely different field to my masters research and have no intention of continuing in this field, however the topic suits me perfectly;
* my supervisors are both Dutch which leads to an awful lot of misunderstandings, both culturally and linguistically;
* my Dutch colleagues don't like my Dutch accent and my other international colleagues don't like my English accent, so communicating with people is trying at times.

You get to a point where you think there's just too much against you. Even non-work activities (e.g. shopping) are exhausting.

Anyone else in a similar boat? :)

O

Hi Numbat

I am an American doing a PhD in England. I completely underestimated the toll and stress and strain of being in another country. You are right, that even the small tasks of daily life like shopping can feel overwhelming. I am now starting to feel in the groove of things, so to speak, but it can still be very tiring to negotiate daily life. I think Shani on here described that as part of culture shock, where you suddenly cannot even do the smallest daily tasks you used to take for granted.

I do not have the language barrier you have--but sometimes the difference in spoken British and American English is quite striking! And it is a wholly different culture, the way of getting things done and how people relate very different.

O