Applying for PhD Funding - Good masters marks but poor undergrad marks?

B

Hello all,

I'll cut straight to the point. I am a Master's Student in Modern History at a good uni, currently putting together an application for AHRC PhD funding. My proposal is good, my supervisor is well respected with a history of successfully getting funding, and my two references should be excellent.

I am predicted a distinction at MA Level. My MA marks to date are 70, 74 and 78 (with 70 and above being distinction).

However, my undergrad marks are a different story. I did my undergrad degree in History (BA Hons) at a different uni, standard 3 years degree, graduated in 2006 with a 2:1. My marks are as follows,

1st Year - 58, 58, 40, 40 (passed as resit), 40 (passed as resit), 33 (passed as resit)
2nd Year - 60, 54, 44, 40 (passed as resit), 40 (passed as resit), 40 (passed as resit)
3rd Year - 68 (thesis), 68, 65, 65, 58, 55

As you can see, while I made a dramatic improvement in my final year, the first two years were plagued by poor marks and multiple resits. I had a few problems doing those first two years, but I don't want to make excuses - I was not up to standard.

What I'm after is a honest assessment of my chances here. How much will my poor first and second years at undergrad level count against me? I'm really distressed that all my hard work at MA level will count for nothing thanks to screw-ups made several years ago.

Obviously the PhD application requires submission of all academic marks to date. I have a transcript which shows just my 3rd year marks and 2:1 degree classification - is there any chance I could get away with submitting that along with my MA marks and hope they don't ask for 1st and 2nd year?

All help appreciated.

E