Athens and Journal access

P

Hi
I am between degrees, I finished my MSc in Nov. and I start my PhD (officially) in Sept. The problem is, that my Athens account has been cancelled by my old uni and the new one won't issue me with a new password until September. This is really frustrating as I have started already to try and cram this big PhD into 3 years, together with my supervisor's support. He has tried to get me earlier access to no avail. Is there anyway to join Athens without going through registration day or are there other databases that are easier to access journals free. I have been here two hours and managed to download ONE full-text. I know my svisor will help me by accessing them all for me but I really don't want keep bothering him.

K

Hi PinkNeuron, know the feeling, I had that problem between MSc and PhD too. Other than paying for access, or finding the odd free issue of a journal at their website (or an occasional free article on google) I didnt have much luck. Any friends' Athens logins you can 'borrow'?

P

I am so cautious that I would keep thinking that I was going to get a flash on my screen saying FRAUD!! I know, really silly but that's just me. I was wondering if there was actually a way to just get access 'legally'. I have been offered one from someone but they are in IT and I tried once but can't access anything neuropsychologically-related. I will just keep chipping away at the ones I can access and when my supervisor has finished my funding proposal, I will bug him again to send me some papers through.

K

I'm in neuropsychology too - if there's anything you really need let me know and I'll see if I've got the pdf!

P

Oh wow, what a coincidence, thanks KitKat, I may have two papers that I would REALLY like...will let you know

P