Awful Supervisor

L

Hi, I just wondered if anyone else had any experience with a horrible supervisor and can offer me some advice? I'm now in my third year, and although I can kind of see the end in sight, in many ways it still seems so far away. My supervisor is controlling, a bully, aggressive and knows little about my area of research. What makes it worse is the fact that I only have her as a supervisor, there no-one else to advise me at all. She pushes me to do things that I don't agree with, and I find it hard to take her advice as my work is predominantly social science-based, and she is not a social scientist in any way. I've spoken to the head of my school about it, but he's a bit of a pushover and because I don't want to complain about her formally, they're unwilling to help me in any way. Sometimes, I really just feel like giving up. I'm not even sure if my research is good enough for a PhD as I have no guidance from a social science research perspective. I can't believe the uni would allow students to end up in this situation, but it appears as though they do. You really are on your own when doing a PhD!

W

Doesn't sound like a good place to be in.

To your question: I am assuming you have talked to your supervisor about the situation already. I know that if I keep quiet on matters of poor supervision, the school would let me fall into that position. (Fortunately, I am not situated like you are.) I guess they figured that I got myself into that situation and I can either ask for help with supporting ideas or dig my way out. However, I do not always follow the established unwritten rules. I would probably start talking to other people in the department who are more closely aligned with my research interests, just to have somebody to talk with. If it felt like things were moving along well and they would be open to the possibility of a supervisor role, ask them.

Good luck with getting it sorted.

C

======= Date Modified 10 Sep 2012 16:42:00 =======