Balancing Teaching with Research

K

Hello All,

From September I have been teaching as part of my scholarship. I am required to teach for five hours a week. However, this is my first time teaching and I am teaching quite a difficult course. Although I understand the material I am a bit rusty because its quite technical and not directly related to my area of research. I have found that I am spending way too much time preparing for classes and this is really taking away from my research time but I can't afford to go infront of a class unprepared. There are also no solutions provided to the classes so I have to go through and verify everything myself. Is this normal for first-time teachers?

T

Yep pretty much. I reckon it takes me 6 hours prep for one lecture if I'm updating something that's already there e.g. checking the information, adding to it, seeing if I understand it myself etc the first time I teach it.. If writing a lecture from scratch then it takes longer (not sure how long yet... I will find out in a few months). Teaching again the following year probably takes a couple of hours prep per lecture.

It's not so bad for me, since my contract is teaching focused so research is optional.

To put your teaching load in perspective, I teach about 120 hours (crude calculation) of lectures/seminars/practicals a year, which works out about the same as you I think? Of course on top of that, there's marking, meetings, preparation and supervision of undergraduate research projects and many many other things, which basically gives me a month or two of research time per year i.e. in the summer when there's no students.

So yeah, 5 hours doesn't sound much, but when you're doing it for the first time, it's a lot.

P

Quote From Kahn:
Hello All,