Based on the evidence: should I quit? http://www.postgraduateforum.com/images/smiley_robin.gif

J

======= Date Modified 01 45 2010 22:45:06 =======
!! UPDATE: Now with improved legibility !!

Dear all, Having read through many should-I-quit-my-PhD threads im afraid that I was inspired to start my own.

I am coming to the end of the first year of my funded PhD. Things have gone well and I should pass my upgrade. However I am having very serious doubts about continuing. I dont want to be too specific but the subject I am studying is Area studies/social science looking at NGOs within one particular foreign country. If I quit I am interested in going to work in the third sector/foreign office/civil service/journalism (business is not an option). The issues that I have been deliberating over are as follows:

I have never wanted to be an academic vs. Im still not sure what I want to do.
I am fairly sure my PhD will not make me any more employable in the areas I am considering vs. Im not entirely sure what these 'areas' are
I will be 28/29 when I finish without house/ savings/wife/baby/car/dog/a suit vs. so what
I dont want to be in the same position I am in now after I finish PhD vs Financial security for the next few years.

I think the main driving force of all of this is that I do not want, and have never wanted, to be an academic (I never even considered doing a PhD till a year ago when I got offered the studentship). I now think I made a rather rash/hasty decision beginning the PhD and therefore is it worth continuing? I have an Area Studies MA, BA history and several years TEFL experience + part-time jobs + 'travel experience' (woohoo!)