Better project or better uni?

C

Hi, I am currently doing a masters in Marine Biology and want to do a PhD next year. I have applied to a few places and am confident ( i have had experience in a research lab for a year, in my chosen area) i wll at least get interviews.

I am unsure, is it best going with a project which is exactly what you want at a university with a lesser reputation i.e Liverpool over one that is what you want but not exactly at a uni with a better reputation i.e St Andrews?

Thanks

O

Naturally, it is ALWAYS better to choose the better project rather than the reputation of the university. If you think about it, at the end of the day, you are likely to increase your chances of completion if the project fits your interest. And completion is what it's all about with these high quitting rates.

L

I'm not sure I'd class Liverpool as having a lesser reputation.....its a very good uni and one of the original red brick ones

INcidentally, Bangor is very good for Marine Biology

I

Indeed. I've just started my PhD at Liverpool after studying marine bio at Swansea, and doing a Masters at Bangor. Bangor is excellent for marine biological stuff, although very competitive - I think they only take about 3 new PhD students a year. Liverpool is also an excellent university in this field, striving for a 5* status in biological sciences.
But either way, it is certainly very important to go for projects that you think would be interesting and you would enjoy studying for 3 long, hard years! The place is very important too, but perhaps more in terms of how you think you will settle in. You don't want to go to a place you don't like and can't imagine living in for those 3 years. And you should probably aim for institutions with higher reputations, if for nothing other than the knowledge you'll be in good hands.

L