Can I finish this PhD by September?

T

I'm a part-time humanities PhD student with two jobs and a family, and I've been studying FOREVER it seems...

I now have to submit my thesis by the end of September, but I still have a good 24,000 words to write. I haven't written my conclusion yet, so a good chunk of that total (around 10,000) is that.
My introduction is written but needs completely rewriting as my supervisor told me it was the worst piece of writing they've seen from me, and it was full of ahistorical generalisations... :/
Chapter 1 is pretty much done though and my supervisor really enjoyed it, so that's the only positive.

I am still finding that I haven't done enough reading, and am having to go back and read things to insert more secondary literature.

Has anyone else here had the same thing where they have TONS to write in a short amount of time? I'm not able to totally shut myself off for 9 weeks as I have a family, so I'm only able to do it in shorter periods of time. If I wrote for 5 hours a day though, I don't think I'd get through it all.

Today I have just sat around and procrastinated because I just feel overwhelmed...

Any tips or advice?

(I should say that I have less work in the next 9 weeks, but have my kid around more as it's summer holidays - I'm trying to put him into as many camps and activities as I can afford!)

K

I spent an entire month before my thesis submission working 20 hours a day, 7 days a week. I don't recommend it! Adrenaline and panic can work wonders when your deadline is approaching. The conclusion is actually one of the easiest bits to write as you're reusing stuff from other chapters and basically summarising and discussing. I think everyone has to go back and add bits to their literature review to make it more current - I had to anyway.