Clinical Embryology - would a PhD be useful, and if so is content important?

U

I'm coming to the end of a BSc in biochemistry, and am interested in a career in embryology.

I have also wanted to do a PhD since I found out what a PhD was.

Is it likely that the PhD would be an aid to securing a traineeship? And if so, how relevant should the PhD be to the job? I don't want to move from where I live so I'm restricted to a small number of universities, one of which has a lot of interesting biosciences PhD projects which I would enjoy doing.

If anyone has any knowledge in this area I'd be pleased to hear from them.

D

Hi,

I studied Biomedicine at undergrad so am quite familiar with clinical science and the associated entry problems. Places are very competitive as you may well know. Studying for a PhD is normally part of the clinical scientists training, normally between grades B and C. The normal entry requirements are a good degree in a pure science. I would be inclined to apply straight off through the NHS clinical scientists web site. If you have no luck I would consider a PhD then. Hope this helps

U

Thanks for your reply. I applied for embryology and clinical biochem traineeships several months ago through the NHS site but I really doubt I've been successful as I don't have anything to stand out from the crowd, just a (nascent) degree (I tried to get experience in hospital labs during vacations but other students were taken on instead).

A main concerns here whether investing in a PhD is worthwhile in terms of career - am I really going to be raising the likelihood of entering the job I want to do.