Conferences!

B

I was just wondering how many conferences you went to/are going to go to during your PhD? Also, did you do them in 1st/2nd/3rd year? I've just started my PhD and have been asked by my sup to produce a rough timetable of the next three years, including conferences! I'm in social sciences, more specifically education, if that makes any difference!

Thanks a lot!

B

I went to 1 conference, international (Canada), just under 2 years into my 6-year part-time PhD. So I guess it would be equivalent of towards the end of 1st year full-time PhD.

I would have liked to have gone to a few more, but I'm severely disabled, and have a progressive neurological disease. I managed to attend this one, but became too disabled afterwards.

I was a history student.

S

======= Date Modified 11 Nov 2010 12:12:29 =======
I did my first one at the end of my first year, but this was work from my masters degree and I didn't feel ready to present my PhD work by then!
I presented at 2 during my 2nd year and have another coming up in December.

I'm umming and ahhing about whether to bother with any others, 4 seems like plenty to me!

Edited to add I also attended one International conference in germany which I didn't present at...

K