Confidence Issues, help with increasing!

C

Hi all

Has any one any ideas of how to raise confidence levels with regards to knowledge etc.
I am in the middle of my 2nd year and still feel like I know nothing and dont know where to go next.
My supervisor is worse than useless and is constantly saying 'oh the project students are getting results...' he has 6 undergrad project students working on variations of my project.
I had a supervision this am and I felt like he kicked me in the teeth!

W

Hey I cant help Im afraid but have a similar prob im 3 months in to a PhD in a subject I have no previous experience of my field at all!! Ekkkk!! So I keep finding people assume I know stuff an have no idea what there on at all!!

M

hi there, I posted a similar message on the forum just a little while ago. I like waterbaby am in a similar position in that I am 3 months into my phd and feel like there is too many journals to read and no matter how many I read, I still dont know whats going on!

A

As Donald Rumsfeld said,

As we know, there are known knowns. There are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns. That is to saywWe know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns,
The ones we don't know we don't know.

A PhD isnt so much turning known unknowns into known knowns, but turning unknown unknowns into known unknowns.

So you will always end up not knowing more than you knew you knew at the begining.

If you are doing it right.

M

Big up Big Don!!!

I have often thought that a large part of a PhD is gaining the confidence to appear right, and believe that you are right, even if you are wrong. Bluffing, if you will. I have had many contradictory lectures from respected researchers, with differntng facts, sometimes diametrically opposed ideas, and often no common ground between them.

B

Aliby- u tryin to confuse even further?

B

The Phd is full of enough jargon. I think being more succint would help.

J