Conflict with supervisors... help!

P

Hi everyone,

I'm not sure that there's any magic solution to this problem, but thought I'd ask the wider community anyway.

I've had a pretty rough time during my PhD. My supervisors are known for being difficult to work with, and the topic of my PhD is in an area outside of their expertise (they also happen to be highly critical of the field in general). I've been slogging through for 5 years now (with a 1 year break), and should be close to finishing. However, they have a habit of suddenly calling for entire re-writes of chapters (back to the most basic thing of changing the hypotheses and aims), and it's very hard to make any progress.

In the past I have backed down and gone with what they say (though this doesn't seem to help, they still end up saying it's boring, unpublishable, or plain wrong). However, I made a new contact in my field who is highly respected and wants to co-author with me. Together we've written a manuscript as my first chapter. However, supervisors have suddenly decided they don't like it, and again have called for a huge re-write, change of methods, analyses, focus.

That could be doable, but I feel strongly that the methods they suggest are wrong, and borne from misunderstanding as it's outside of their field. Co-author agrees, but I haven't told them that (they dislike the idea of me having any outside help). Not only that, but I feel the paper they want me to write is misleading and almost morally wrong, as it doesn't include my later work which changes the conclusions and implications.

I'm trying to defend my work and argue my point (respectfully), but am getting repeatedly shut down. Has anyone had a similar problem? I doubt I can change supervisors this late in the game (?) Would you publish a paper you feel is wrong and misleading, or keep trying to argue your point?

E

Can anyone help panny?

M