Confused about a post doctorate or another Phd related job

C

I am new to this forum. I am currently getting my PhD in biological sciences and I love what I do. But my PhD life is not going as well as I wanted it to. I have 3 co-authored papers but am waiting for a 1st author publication. I get depressed thinking I still do not have one. Having to change the project a couple of times things have been moving at a glacial pace. Also, I have a year to finish, I am starting my 5th year. I am at a point where I have mentally prepared myself to finish all my experiments this year, so I can start writing and finish by the same time next year.

I am not willing to be in academia 10 years down the line and I know for sure that I do not want to teach. Hence the dilemma if I should do a post doctorate or not? I am interested to finally live a life and start working. It has been 8 years since I moved to the US and I have a masters and will now finish my PhD, hopefully with a paper but, should I go in for a post doc or not? Can I not find other jobs in the industry? I feel I am ready to learn something new and different.

Please advise. Thank you

S

hi Chopsticks20
welcome to the forum! Its great that you have 3 co-authored papers. I don't even have any papers--I wrote 3 but they were rejected; I spent so much time correcting, changing etc.etc.; now I have to speed up my writing, as I really have to finish this phd.
So actually, there are others worse off than you :-)

please don't feel down about your 1st author paper not happening yet :-)

I have friends doing postdoc; and they do it because they haven't found jobs (!). It's like a cycle, one post doc after another. but then again, this is only restricted to less than 10 people (my friends!). That said, I have a friend who got a job immediately after her phd (and she wasn't even interested in postdocs). I guess it will come to you, whatever happens :-)

good news is that you will have one last year.