Considering having a baby ...

M

Hello Everyone,

I am currently in my 1st year (PhD in foreign language) and I'll be 26 years old this year. With my boyfriend, we have been considering having a baby for more than one year now ... Doing a PhD was not at all planned, I just found last June an offer for a scholarship (for a native speaker) to do this PhD on internet, thought I would have a go with a project proposal, went to the interview and passed it ! So here we are in the UK now .... with a new project : the PhD.
But our "old" project (the baby) is still here ...
But I am really worried, I am afraid that it might not be the right time to have a baby .... (but then, it is always 'not the right time' ... 2 years ago I was doing my Master's degree, then I had my 1st real job last year as a teacher and there again, it was not the right time ... and now the PhD ... which is going to last at least 3 years ....)

So what do you think ?
Would it be completely crazy to have a baby now ( well at the time maybe i'll be in my 2nd year) ?
What will happen to my scholarship ( a 3 year scholarship)?
Will I be able to get any kind of "maternity leave" ? But will I be considered as still doing my researches at that time ?
Is there any kind of financial help here in the UK for pregnant women ?

I am very confused ...

I hope you will be able to give me some advice.

Many thanks and best wishes with your PhD.

C

I had a baby at the beginning of my third year and I am due to submit by June. I think that you need to consider very carefully where are the sources that you need for your research. Do you need to travel to access libraries/ archives/ institutions? Having a baby is the most brilliant experience, but for what I could see among my colleagues, it is almost impossible to complete a PhD if you have a baby in your first year, with all the research to do.