Considering Quitting in my 4th Year Social Science PhD

S

Hi to anybody willing to listen,
I am coming to the end of my 4th year of my PhD and there is not end in sight. I have taken so many wrong turns and though I have my PhD quite well mapped out, I am really struggling to write it up. I am currently writing my theory chapter for the 3rd time. Since I have changed direction I am pretty much starting this chapter from scratch. I am, however having chronic writers block and having already taken 2 weeks off, it is not lifting. I am considering for the first time in 4 years of quitting. But if I leave I have few options and nothing to show for my 4 years. I am in my 30s and married. My wife has a crap job, and I have little experience outside academia. Does anybody have any advice?

P

Stick with it! You're closer to the end than you are the start.

With regards to the writing, have you been splitting things into smaller sections? I find it's much easier to write a small section of a chapter and then move onto the next than attempt the entire chapter in one go. It also means at the end of the day you can say to yourself. "I've finished sections 1.1 - 1.5 today!"

D

Hi strugglingstu. Firstly, are you doing this part time or full time? HAve you done enough work already that would be worthy enough of a PhD without struggling through this part? What has your supervisor said about your work, are they supportive?

S