Content Analysis

H

Hi,

Has anyone ever used content analysis? Could anyone recommend some resources I could read? Also, what is a very similar type of analysis methodology to content analysis?

It's my first time using it and I'm unsure as to exactly how it works ...

Thanks!

Chococake :)

P

What field are you working in? I'm in humanities and found these good starting points. I'm doing very basic content analysis so can't really give you any more advice!

Holsti, O. R. Content Analysis for the Social Sciences and Humanities. Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley Publishing Company, 1969.

Krippendorff, K. Content Analysis: An Introduction to Its Methodology. London: Sage, 1980.

I've not used content analysis. I have used template analysis which is basically pulling themes out of text and creating a 'template' - basically a hierarchical list of codes e.g.

1. Dog Expense
1.1 Dog Food
1.1.1 Dog treats
1.1.1.1 Chicken Dog treats
1.2 Dog Toys
1.2.1 Frisby

And so on. There is a really good website here for this http://www2.hud.ac.uk/hhs/research/template_analysis/ I think the main difference is that you (well not necessarily) don't count the codes, so there is no quantitative output. THere is an emphasis on that if something appears once in one interview, then it could be as important as something that appears 20 times across several interviews.

I have a good pdf book on qualitative methods if you want it - just PM me your email.

H

Quote From sneaks:

I've not used content analysis. I have used template analysis which is basically pulling themes out of text and creating a 'template' - basically a hierarchical list of codes e.g.

1. Dog Expense
1.1 Dog Food
1.1.1 Dog treats
1.1.1.1 Chicken Dog treats
1.2 Dog Toys
1.2.1 Frisby