Council Tax exemption

H

Hi,
I am due to start a full-time PhD in a few weeks time and was wondering if i will still be able to get an exemption form for the council tax like i did for my undergraduate degree?
Thanks, :-)

S

In short, yes, although you may need to complete a form depending on where you re living.

J

I got an exemption certificate from the finance office, which was accepted straight away by the local council. No problem.

N

What sylvester said.

P

Hi,

I'm a full-time PhD student,and will rent a house to live with my wife,but she wont work for a period of time,neither will she claim benefits,etc-we are EU but not British. Will I have to pay council tax? Thanks!

A

You will get a 25% reduction on your council tax if there is 1 student and 1 non-student living in the property.

O

...which would be a foolish thing to do. Don't mention any wife living in the same property and you will get a full exemption rather than 25% only. And save you a heck of a lot of money.

In the Uk, there is no need to register with the police/council (if you are from EU) and therefore no database will indicate people living in a property.

P

Thanks Otto, for your suggestion, I think I'll do so despite of the (minimal) risk.

K

This may sound like I'm being a bit of a shit, but taxes are there for a reason, unless you are exempt you should pay! It's not really very fair, especially if you aren't a british citizen!

C

it also depends why she will not be workign or claiming bnefits, if it is because of the terms of her visa, then she is also exempt from council tax as a spouse of a non-british full time student.

If it is because she just chooses not to work, then she'll only be eligable foe the 25% discount. If you do not report her living there it is fraud, you're unlikely to get caught, but some poeple will take moral issue with it.

O