critical thinking...critical writing..How to be critical?

S

Hi all,

Ughhh...my supervisor said that I am not being critical enough in my first submission. l get confused what exactly 'critical' in terms of writing means? Have not heard for the second submission and worried whether I was critical enuff or not? Having hard time thinking...and writing..

J

Critical in terms of writing means the same as it does in life. Without being critical for the sake of it, you need to read the literature and give your honest opinion about it. If you think it is crap, then say so, if you agree with something but think it needs to be tweaked, then say so. With a PhD, you need to excel yourself and value your own judgements. I am only learning this now after a year in!

But be careful! You need to have evidence, i.e. through other literature you agree with, or through primary research.

S

Thanks Jinio for such a prompt reply. I will bear in mind what u have said..

S

I have much the same problem - my supervisor ticks me off for beating about the bush and not being 'critical' enough and to really 'go for them' lol - trouble is, I think that I tend to under-value my own opinion and to still be in U/G mindset that these are 'professionals' and know a lot better than I do. I must confess though (with evidence to hand lol) I rather enjoyed the last piece I wrote for the board and gave a couple of academics a really good mauling (politely) - well, they write rubbish and make wild generalisations they should expect it ;-)

S

Exactly Stressed....I agree with u.

In my case, rather than being critical I tend to flow with what the literature says...have not overcome with it yet.

I was just reading on the link about the literature review - what to do n what not to!

http://www.uq.edu.au/student-services/linkto/phdwriting/fr_phsta.html

Hope, will be useful to someone like me who is struggling with the ideas...
:-)

P