Demotivated and tired

Z

I am in my 2nd year of my Phd in public health as a part-timer with a full time job. And it’s been a while i am demotivated, crying, edgy, tired all the time and procrastinating a lot, i am not meeting my to do lists. Reading others posts made me realize that’s maybe it’s normal what I am passing through. I feel like quitting cause I am just tired all the time and too stressed, i can’t take off days cause i can’t afford it with the economic situation in my country and to add on i have huge deadlines and i have the stress that i need to finish in 3 years cause cz self-funded. I am writing my scoping review article and doing the extraction of 42 articles, working on a delphi study with the whole statistical parts and preparing for the 2nd round, and validating 2 outcome measures tools on patients in parallel... always feeling am incompetent and my work is not good enough, that i should read more references, improve more the writing, fix the protocols. I have 2 supervisors cause i am doing it jointly between 2 universities, they are supportive but i feel sometimes they r over busy to really help me practically. Sorry for the long post.. any tip to motivate me to continue and get back on track? Thank you

E

Hello, I'm sorry you are finding things tough. You're right, it is very normal to feel like this during this stage of your PhD. Interestingly, I'm currently working post doc in Public Health and part of that is a Delphi study, so please feel free to drop me a message if you have any questions I can help with.