Depressed with PhD

A

I am an international student who joined PhD in engineering in one of the top institutes in US. After 3 months into the program, I really don't like the whole aspect of doing PhD and it has led me into a sort of depression and I feel that life has become a drag and I feel that I have become extremely unhappy ever since I joined the PhD. I have a strong urge to quit my program and return back to my country.

These are my reasons why I feel that I should quit

1. Not any more enthusiastic about studies
Having difficulty in concentrating, maybe do not want to study for another 5/6/7 yrs, I feel that I have tricked myself into joining since it was a great opportunity and I did not want to let go of it.

2. Hating reading research papers
Very boring, even did not start off with a lot of enthusiasm,

3. Do not like the environment of the lab, everyone seems to remain frightened
Everybody says it will take a loooong time
U only get vacation when u have very good results ( which is extremely rare )
There is no guarantee of future
I am not enjoying my research
There was a case where a student, after 8 yrs, did not get a phd
Funding can get stopped any time, happened with a few students.
Have to work like hell

4. It will take 6 -7 years, not sure if I want to commit myself for such a long period of time

5. Want to join industry, I am straight out of my undergrad, maybe I want to experience job scene.
6. Also don’t like my prof so much

Very demanding, bossy, does it in his own way
Very manipulative

7. I feel that I will not enjoy my time here and remain depressed forever
8. I have left all of my friends and family. Would like to meet with old friends once in a while

Now these are the reasons why I feel I should not quit
1. One of the best uni – best facilities, good network could lead to very good opportunities after graduation
2. Opportunities to explore US
3. Opportunities to visit other countries during conferences