Despair of Qualitative Student Evaluations

A

Part 1)

I’ve just started a new contract (1 year) full-time role as an assistant lecturer in Australia (in the US this would be an Associate Professor). I have about 4 years’ experience prior to this in both TAing and coordinating units at this same university. When I was a sessional, I only ever had access to the quantitative evaluations on my teaching.

Now that I’m full-time, I’ve just been sent my first batch of qualitative comments from a unit I coordinated last semester.

My god.

The report was really mixed, with both really positive comments from students and really horrible ones. I’m trying to see the best in the horrible ones regarding what I can do to improve my lecturing and my unit as that’s the purpose, but they are really contradictory to the positive ones. Some students love the media incorporated in the lecture, others absolute hate it. Some called me an excellent lecturer, friendly and highly knowledgeable, others called me incompetent, hard to approach and question my expertise. Some were really thankful for the extra resources I provided, such as guides to writing essays, while others were angry that I didn't spell everything out and felt that their inability to do well was my fault.

I know why the unit didn’t do as well (receiving a 3.75/5 when the school aims for 4 and above) as it did the previous year when I taught it. When I was teaching I was quite stressed, having just submitted my thesis for examination, desperately looking for work because I knew by December I would be unemployed, and had issues with a student that I had to get faculty and other departments involved because of the high level of harassment and threats I was receiving. I hated teaching this class, because I was terrified each week that this student would show up. Combining this with being treated for a binge-eating/anxiety disorder and getting quite ill, it just was not my semester.

A

Part II