Desperate...

P

Hello!
I am a PhD student finishing my third year. One year left. I am desperate because I have no data, no motivation, no idea what I want to do after I finish. I don't like the people I work with - most of the post-docs dislike me, the ones who do like me seem to struggle in this lab as well. Several quit and find new jobs elsewhere as the environment here is too toxic for them to handle.
The post-docs supervising me ignored me for the first 2 years and a half, and now suddenly realised I exist and only put pressure on me, implying I won't make it.
My supervisor is nice, but he doesn't do lab work at all, he only manages the lab and has important roles in the University, so I don't think he understands.
I am starting to write my thesis (I was told I need to write up and work in the lab simultaneously as I won't have the time to write up only in the end) but I feel sad, depressed, and been eating and sleeping irregularly (a lot.). I feel moody all the time, and don't know what to do.
Is it possible to do lots of work in the final year and get a PhD? Any thoughts? Help :(

U

I am really sorry to hear your story.

The good thing is that from what you say you have a nice supervisor who at the end of the day is really the only one that can turn your fortunes around by rallying the postdocs to be more helpful in your final year. I therefore suggest you write him an e-mail of your progress (i.e. what experiments you have done to date and the outcome) and your worries without going into too much detail about what brought you to this position (i.e. how the postdocs treated you) so that both of you can come up with a feasible action plan in the time you have left. Following this you will have to make sure that you follow the plan/timeline so as not to give anyone an excuse to ignore you again.