Do you really think it's all worth it?

W

I'd just like to ask a couple of questions really and gauge opinions on whether you think academia is worth it, after doing a PhD. I'm really struggling at the moment (aren't we all at some point) and just a bit worried that I'll be doing very much the same after/if I ever get to the end of my PhD. I suppose I need to bear in mind that all worthwhile careers are challenging and stretch you, but I don't know if I can continue to work as furiously as I am now after my PhD. Will a post-doc be PhD version 2? Do you think that it's all worth it in the end?
I'm probably going to end up attempting to get into academia because I have absolutely no idea what to do with my life, or what kind of careers I could attempt to do. I could try and work in the NHS but I haven't used my clinical skills ever since I graduated, so that's probably a no-no. With this in mind, I consider myself restricted to academia. I'm not lazy but I'm going to want some 'me' time, so what do you think? It can never obviously be 9 til 5, but do you, in your personal opinion, think academia is a good move and/or are you hoping to work in a university or for a research organisation? Apologies if this has been asked before.

T

I've thought a great deal about this in recent months, and I still find myself to-ing and fro-ing on a regular basis. There are moments when I love what I do; the challenge, the constant flux of new ideas, the freedom, the great people in my department and diversity of the work. But then there are times when it feels like a never-ending struggle, and I look at the people around me - no job security, stuck as lab managers because they've become too senior for postdocs but didn't try to be professors, lucky if a post comes up which doesn't mean uprooting 500 miles away.... and for those who are/aimed to be professors, the hours are demanding, more so than I'd like because work really isn't all I want in life.