Do you think I made a mistake? Please help

S

OK, I have send an email and now I think I should not have send it, here is why. Please tell me what do you think.

I have been applying for jobs for 6 months now. I have been to workshops about CVs, cover letters etc. I have asked my supervisor to check my CV and cover letter before applying few months ago, but I didn't get any job with my previous applications.

Now there is a new postdoc advertised and I don't want to loose it, cause i really like the job.

There is a very respected investigator (i will call him "old supervisor") in my field who was my supervisor's supervisor about 15 years ago, therefore I know him and he helped so much before, basically he is very nice and kind person.
When I had my viva he congratulated me so much and asked about my future plans, so I told him I want to stay here (am international student) and do a postdoc, so he told me if you need any help please don't hesitate to ask me for help, you might need it along the way.
OK till now sounds good, but I didn't ask him yet for any advice, I thought it is not nice to ask him and I should ask my supervisor if I need any help and my supervisor should be able to help me, so I did ask for my supervisor advice on my application and as I mentioned I didn't get the jobs.
what I did is I send an email to the "old supervisor" and told hem I would like advice from him for the next job application, and that I want to find out if I'm doing any mistakes.
Now I think this might hurt my own supervisor ( he is very nice to me and I don't want him to think that I'm not respecting him), they are close and am sure the old supervisor will tell my supervisor that I asked for help.