DOING A SECOND MASTERS - PROBLEM

A

Hello,
I finished my degree in 2005 and got first class honours. However, I went on to do a Masters degree two years later and received quite a bad mark - 57%. I've always been a good student, and was on track to get a 2.1 or a 1st until I submitted a thesis which received 45%. I can't really explain why, but it's a combination of disliking the city I lived in, being a little bit depressed and isolated, disliking my thesis supervisor, and choosing a topic which I belatedly realized bored me to death.

After spending a couple of years travelling, teaching English etc, I've finally decided I want to enter an area which generally requires a postgrad qualification. However, I'm concerned that the admissions board will see my bad mark and assume I'm not cut out for postgraduate study, which I firmly believe to be untrue. The course I want to do is quite competitive.

I have two questions:
1.Do you think that this bad Masters mark will doom my chances of getting into this course?
2.If I were to simply leave it off my application, would the university be able to find this out, considering that I did it at a different uni to my undergraduate degree and there's nothing else in my application to say I ever attended that university? Is there a general national database or whatever of students listing all courses done? I could simply say I was travelling for the year.

Thank you.

P

======= Date Modified 04 Jan 2009 09:35:53 =======
One concern that shot to my mind is that the forms ask you to list all graduate institutions you have attended and send in all transcripts from degree courses. That, plus the fact that you must guarantee with your signature that you have been honest with the form, later failing which your status in the univ as a regd student may be jeopardized. And i think it may be a bit too much of a risk to take.

Just my two pence.