Enrolling as a part-time student after being full-time for 18 months - is this a good idea?

N

I have my progress review meeting next Monday which will hopefully allow me to enrol for this academic year, although I initially enrolled in January 2011. I am progressing, although difficulties with my literature review and a change of supervisor have delayed things a bit. Fortunately, recent feedback from my lit review has been positive, although there is still some work to do I am fairly confident that it will be okay once I have revised it according to their comments.

The main problem is whether I will finish on time, which is supposed to be January 2014. I don't think that this is possible, at the moment I am a full-time student but because I am self-funded I have had to work part-time (sometimes more than part-time) during my PhD. Although my parents are willing to help me out, I would really like to be independent and earn my own money. I have been teaching at the university, doing private tuition and some nannying to get by, this year I have taken on another PhD student's teaching as well as doing the same as last year, and I am doing a bit of lecturing so I will be even busier when I start the private tuition as well. Therefore I think it would be sensible for me to go part-time, I no longer see this as 'failing', I just want to develop more as an academic as well as do my PhD, going part-time would hopefully give me more time to present at conferences and maybe get a couple of publications (my supervisors talk about this all the time), and put me in a better position for when I am job-searching afterwards. Basically I want to get a bit more out of the PhD process and alleviate some of the financial pressure that I have at the moment.