Every idea I come up with has already been done!

G

Hi everyone, my BA's in English Lit and I finished my MA in Performance Studies a few years ago and have been trying to apply for a phd ever since, but every time I come up with an idea, I begin working on a proposal only to discover that somebody else has already done it and/or it belongs to a field I have no background in therefore no department will take me e.g. philosophy or psychology.
Without wishing to sound like an X Factor contestant, I really really want to do a phd. My life is pretty much on hold until I get started. I'm still doing the 'temporary' shop job I began during my MA and focussing all my spare time on finding a subject.
I've been plugging away thinking "not to worry, I'll find something soon" for some time now and am starting to wonder if I'll ever get out of this limbo and get started. Any people I've asked for advice so far have said things like "We've all been there, you'll find a way around it" or "Well, I had my idea while I was doing my MA", or questioned how much I actually want to do this as if that's the problem. Am I going about this the wrong way? Help!!

E

I don't know about your field, but I will tell you some general stuff.
Maybe you can work on a subject but see it from a different perspective (maybe using another research method????)
As far as the lack of knowledge...well, this is the scope of a PhD (at least one of its scopes), to learn new things! At least that's what I am doing. When I started, I knew what I wanted to do, but it was in a field that I didn't know enough. As I progress, I keep learning new things, new techniques....

E

Hi Gidget,