Everything is going well ... except me!

C

When I started my Masters it took some courage to get back into the academic world, in a different country and a few years after I took my undergraduate degree. However I felt full of energy and took every opportunity to learn without thinking too much about how I was going to perform. I am not saying that I did it as a leisure activity -I would have stayed home reading novels otherwise -but it was a 'vocational' choice and I did it without any financial or moral support from anyone. Actually my parents thought that I was wasting my time. So, as I was studying and working at the same time, our conversations were limited to the 'job' side. Then, unexpectedly, things took a 'competitive' turn. I got a distinction with my Masters, started my PhD last year, and suddenly got some awards.

C

[part 2] I am very happy about it, as I didn't expect to get to this point at all. The problem is that now I feel under pressure to produce something outstanding all the time. I cannot concentrate on anything and try to do 200 things at the same time, because I can only see the 'bigger picture' and don't manage to break it down into small chunks. I feel depressed and scared that if I continue like this I will jeopardise all the work that I have done so far. I think that my self-confidence was probably built on a very flimsy basis. I am the one that tend to work in a dark, little corner, and when suddenly I got some recognition for my work, it just scared me to death! Sorry about this tantrum. I just don't know how to get out of this. Is anyone in the same situation?

S

hey Corinne. Firstly, i think what you have acheived is incredible and you should feel very proud of yourself. Secondly, i don't know if this is relevant and/or helpful (please ignore me if it isn't!)but i have the following posted up next to my computer: