Expiration of PhD Registration

D

Hello all,

I'm full time and having a nightmare now that I know my expiration for phD completion is approaching - Jan 2009. It leaves me with just over a year to go. That in mind I was wandering as anyone here got to their expiration date and had trouble to extend it? How do you go about extension as I was under the impression it is only given under mitigating circumstances?

I ask because I have had a lot of trouble with supervisors in the past, I've changed them but I feel I'm still being delayed. Four years into the course I don't feel I want to change uni now..with only one year to go. I really want to complete it!

Maybe i'm just having a panic attack but its starting to stress me out. I'd appreciate any advice :-) What precautions should I take? Well I'll definately be aiming to finish in time but my university is full of office politics and i've some bad experiences thats making me panic..donut X

K

some questions:-

Are you in the UK?

is the Jan 2009 deadline the end of a 3 year registration period?

Or is it end of 4 years? (I note you say "four years into the course" but on what basis was this? have you always been full time? Are you on a 1+3 ESRC thing? Or straightforward PhD registration)

A little more background would be useful

D

Hiya Kron,

Yea I am in UK, London. The Jan 09 deadline is at end of five years I think I started 2003 always been on full time phD direct. X donut

K

Hi there, sorry for the delay - been in a meeting.

What are the standard regulations for your uni? Sorry if I am being abit slow on the uptake, but you say your jan 2009 deadline is end of 5 years? That is unusually long for a UK PhD registration period if you're full time. Maybe others can confirm here, but at my place it was 3 years + 1 writing up year if needed, anything after that 4th year had to be specifically negotiated within the rules and regs for extensions. Are you allowed up to 5 years then?

R