Failed PhD after corrections, funding possibilities?

G

Hi,

I'm a current PhD student and my subject is polymer / organic chemistry.

I had major corrections after my viva and after resubmitting the examiner said he still didn't be believe my thesis and so failed me. I should point out the this guy too 6 months to book in the initial viva and then 6 months to come to his final decision, post corrections.

I now have to work in order to pay off debts / bills and to stay close to my University. I worked out what I need to do and a solid 5-6 months should be enough to resubmit. Unfortunately, I need to work full-time and so don't have very much time to finish my PhD.

Does any one have any advice or know of any funding I could apply for to finish this off?

Cheers

M

Hi

I didn't want to read and run. I got 'revise and resubmit in 12 months' in my viva last week, but I am surviving this, or, at least, I am trying to.

Did you have to officially resubmit your thesis after major corrections and did you have to have a second viva?

So, effectively now they have given you further major (or is it minor) corrections?

I would recommend you to find yourself a part time job instead of looking for further funding. I have done the same. I can barely support myself, but I know that it can keep me running for a while. Plus, a part-time job, irrelevant to your topic, is good since it will take your mind away - you cannot think of the thesis 24/7 - your mind needs a rest too.

M

Hi,

Sorry to hear about that. To be honest I am not sure of an answer to your question, but as a fellow organic chemist I thought I should say something.