Faking my way through...

E

I just posted this in the 'lessons learned' thread, but I really want to know if anyone else has similar experiences/feelings toward their PhD...

I'm a history PhD student in the UK, just coming up on three years now- I had an extra language-learning year, so in theory there's one more year to go. And here's the thing: I really don't know what I'm doing. Ask me what my thesis is about (or worse, what my thesis IS) and I can only give a very general, hesitant answer, which is the same one I would have given you three years ago. I try to avoid the question altogether. Talking to other students is a weird combination of bluffing and being EXTREMELY interested in what they're studying. So, what have I been doing for three years? Language-learning aside, I've been reading in the general area I'm looking at and looking at primary documents (probably not nearly enough), hoping that somehow I will discover something new, something that gives direction and structure and makes this thing seem doable. I haven't so far found anything. My thesis does not exist.

Now, I know that a lot of this is my own fault- the biggest problem being that I never ask for help, or at least never make clear the extent of help that I need. My advice to anyone in a remotely similar situation is, of course, to very clearly ask for help, because regardless of how blame might be distributed, you are the only one who will bear the consequences. However, the thought strikes me that it should not be possible to do what I've done. There should have been some system- some means of checking that I was actually making progress and knew what I was doing.