Fed up!!

C

Hi everyone, I'm a second year PhD student in the biochemistry area and I'm absolutely sick to death of my PhD!! I've accomplished nothing in the past 2 days, just sat and procrastinated looking at stupid stuff on the internet! I just can't seem to focus on anything or motivate myself to get up from my computer and go into the lab and do any real work. This then makes me feel really guilty which somehow makes me feel even less motivated! I'm not particularly interested in my PhD (I'm beginning to think I hate science altogether), but I want to stick it out so I have the qualification even though I'm sure I don't want to do lab work or research ever again. I feel like I've achieved very little in the last few months and don't feel like I'm progressing much.

Just wondered if anyone else feels/has felt this way before and as any advice on how to get past it? Thanks guys.

C

What do you think the problem is? Are your experiments working in the lab?

C

Not a lot is working at the moment to be honest. It's so frustrating just repeating stuff for it to not work again.

C

Yeah I suspected it was that. I also did a biochem related subject and when things weren't working in the lab it was the same. Best solution I found was to try new things in the lab whilst repeating the thing that's not working. If there's a new assay to try that could produce some data it really helps with the motivation.

S

Hi Coop

Do a search on here on 'procrastination' and you'll bring up lots of stuff - this is a common theme! Then again, looking at a thread on procrastination will help you procrastinate...