Feeling lost and unhappy - would really like some feedback

P

Ok, so here goes. I am a first year PhD student and for the past 3 weeks I have done very little work (although I don't think anyone else has caught onto that quite yet). This is mainly because I thought I was pregnant, I'm not, and although I should be relieved that I can carry on with my PhD without having to think about having a baby at the same time I am actually quite disappointed, which has left me wondering if the disappointment is more to do with me facing the fact that I am not that happy doing this PhD rather than wanting a baby.
I have spent 7 months of my first year putting together a literature review (compulsory in the faculty I am in) which has had to change several times subject to my supervisor just changing her mind constantly about what is in it and have been very severely criticised several times by her (although another two members of staff in the department told me early drafts were excellent). The literature review will undoubtedly change substantially as my research evolves (I am a deductive, qualitative researcher) so I don't feel I can comfort myself with the fact I have done something that will eventually contribute to my thesis either. I am now writing a continuation report about the research I have done, but feel I have done very very little, that I am just re-hashing what I have already done and hoping no-one notices, which is not why I wanted to do a PhD. All this has left me feeling totally hopeless, I don't feel I can talk to my supervisor at all. I realise I must sound like I am just moaning on and that all the other students in my faculty have had to do the same, so I should suck it up so to speak, but I just feel like I can't carry on - if anyone else has been in a similar position any advice as to what you did to help yourself feel better would be massively appreciated!

S

Hi there,