final discussion chapter - agh!

F

Sorry to ask you another question but I am having problems with the last chapter of my PhD.

I have just given a draft copy of the thesis to my supervisor bar this chapter and can no longer procrastinate about it. I think about what should go in it and my mind draws a blank. I have provided mini discussion sections in each of my chapters so I need to find some way of drawing the whole thing together I think. I can see that I need to include the obvious implications of my research and also directions for future research but I am really finding it hard to see what should go in this chapter.

I realise that this is very much topic dependent but I just wondering if anyone experienced this panic with the final chapter also. I am not good with discussion so I think that is my main problem, the thought of devoting a whole chapter to my weakest point is quite daunting!

I have looked and some PhDs in my Uni library for inspiration but wondered if anyone else could offer any useful advice.

Thanks again, I really do appreciate it.

A

wow, someone who has got a nearly completed draft - well done! must feel good to have got so far!

dont have any suggestions, the conclusion seems so far off (from the depths of chapter 2...) but nice to know it is possible to get there

L

I have no experience in this myself but from looking at other people thesis in my field they also tend to include discussion and conclusions at the end of the chapters. The Conclusions chapter only contains a brief summary and comparison of each with sugestions for further work, and in my field tends to be really short (2-6 pages double spaced)

I don't know if this helps

F

Aliby, it is possible to get there, honest! I can't believe the time has gone so quickly, it feels like only yesterday that I started. Funny though as the end point feels so far away to me, I suppose it is all relative. I think my mantra at the moment is 'I will finish, it will happen!"