finding a supervisor from a different university that i am enrolled at, is it possible?

S

Hello everyone, I need your advice!

This October I started doing my Ph.D. in Psychology at University of Warsaw (Poland). Basically, these studies consist of the individual cooperation with the supervisor, there r no scheduled courses (only 4 days of courses a year in total); moreover, as a first year student I am not required to work at the university either.

My supervisor told me that the only way to contact her is to visit her office once a month on a certain date. I flew all the way to Poland (I live in Germany) only for this purpose and it turned out that these were not individual consultations - as I expected, but a group seminar. There were people from 2nd,3rd and even 4th year and our dissertations' topics had nothing in common. As a result of all that mess, I could only talk with my supervisor about my paper for only 3minutes! When I asked her for the additional contact via email, because I am going back to Germany, she said that only during those seminars she is available for me. Later she wrote me an email saying ' I assume there was some misunderstanding, I don't have time to supervise you individually, maybe you should consider finding a different supervisor'.

I live in Germany and I would even prefer to have the supervisor from here (Nordrhein - Westfalen) or the online consultations. Not only because it would be more convenient for me but also because I am writing a cross-cultural paper that compares three different nations (inter alia Germany).

My question is, do you think it is actually possible that some professor from a different university would agree for supervising me even though I am enrolled at the university in a foreign country?

Any advice is appreciated!!
Thanks for your time!

B

Hi,