First yr PhD student stumped for ideas for summer 2008

F

Hi,
Can any1 enlighten me as to how you have (2nd, 3rd,...PhD students) have spent their summers? I want to do sth exciting, but it needs to be cheap.

F

R

how about in the Lab? its my understanding that Phds are treated much the same as jobs and that most people would be lucky if they can find the time to take two weeks off during the summer months? correct if im wrong. if you want cheap you cant go wrong with package holiday to spain/portugal/greece....

F

Thank you for the comment!

I should let you know - that I am doing a PhD in Law. So no lab work for me.

E

lol rjb! No lab work for my PhD but no Summer either... not like it was in undergrad - weeks and weeks of freedom... there really shouldn't be time (and if you're like me then I'd feel too guilty to enjoy that kind of time off anyway) Having said that I was lucky this year and did manage a week in Norway in February and a week in Rome in September for my 'Summer' holidays

J

Here PhDs are allowed 25 days annual holiday, of which not more than 10 days can be taken consecutively (i.e. no more than two weeks at once). So I laugh whenever someone asks me what I'm doing for the "summer holiday".

P

do people really get the summer off when doing a PhD?!

A

hi, I'm second year - for the past two summers I took a week or two off and went on a volunteering holiday at a respite centre for people with disabilities [look up here http://www.vitalise.org.uk/Volunteer/Volunteer-at-a-Vitalise-Centre.aspx] - something to consider,if you're looking for very cheap, but I'm not sure if your idea of exciting includes for instance pushing wheelchairs around Southport (where one of the centres is).I loved it though,and had a great rest,at least it was something very different from what I normally do.

B

Hmm, yeah - I think if you did just spend your whole summer on holiday you'd screw up the PhD, even one in arts & humanities ...

F

Cheers for the reality check.