Formulating a PhD question?

H

Hi all. I was wondering if you had any tips for me. I am new to the PhD process, and am floundering as to how to best formulate a PhD question. I have my basic research framework - in that I want to analyse conflict in Zimbabwe as an inherent symptom of a distinctive political logic that is to be found throughout Africa. I know it is broad at this stage, but I am only a month in to the general research, and I have found that unless I have a QUESTION, my research really could be endless. Has anyone else had difficulties with formulating the basic question? I am getting increasingly frustrated as I am doing all of this work, and don't feel any closer to clarity. Any tips?

B

What would you say if I met you in a pub and asked 'So what exactly are you trying to find out with this research of yours' Imagine I am reasonably intelligent, but have no specific knowledge of your area.

B

Heathy - it really does depend on how long you have been researching up to this point. The norm is that you spend the guts of the first year reading around the area to build up knowledge and to get the underlying trends. Then you decide on which route will give your research a novel edge. It might help that you start writing up some form of a lit review or get a conference paper out covering the general area soon. These could form a reference point and may also be used as a means of introducing yourself to other researchers in the area.

I know getting a specific area is a pain in the ar$e (I am over 18 months and only getting a specific idea now). Once you get an idea, there is still a hell of work to be done but at least you know what you have a clear goal in sight. Good luck

C