General questions + Funding

A

Hi,

I am currently a first year master student, and wish to apply for a PhD in the UK.

But I have a few questions that I would like to ask some questions to experts :P

I will need to explain a bit of my history :P

My dad died when I was studying in my 2nd year during the bachelor course.

Therefore my study results went down in the 2nd and 3rd year (bachelor), cause I needed to work in a restaurant to get enough money to survive...

Now I stopped working at the restaurant and my results turned normal (much better).

I would like to ask if the bad results of my 2nd and 3rd year will prevent me do to a PhD in the UK or not... (Meaning that the supervisors won't accept you as a PhD student)

And how is the funding system there? Is it possible to monthly get an amount?

Regards

Alex

G

OOPs Just woken up at 2am after a sudden collapse thinking about the Beast. I am on my own here(Even BB n Wally have retired). Never mind. Alextam! that was very saddening incident and reminded me about my own dad who passed away in my 4th year of undergraduate course. 'May God Rest Their Soul in Peace'. Boy, you need a 2:1 to get into a PhD course. With a 2:2 you will need 2-3 years of Industrial experience or a good masters degree. Try to talk to people in your dep where you are doing your masters. The major issue is always funding. IF you get a distinction in masters then It may open the doors for your funding.

S

hello! Goodboy is right. I'm in a hurry now so I'll make this short :-)
Dont worry about your 1st degree results; concentrate on your masters :-)
yes its possible to get a monthly amount
* rushing rushing
love satchi

K