Good Presentation

J

We had a research day today when all the PhD students had to present on their research in front of staff and other students. Some people were at the very begining while others are about to submit. I was quite nervous as I hadn't been before so I wasn't sure what was expected and also I was one of the first on.

It went pretty well (I knew a lot of the staff as I did my MSc there 5 years ago) and I had an e-mail from my supervisor who said that it was "perhaps the most credible and thought-out-in-advance research project presented between 0900-1100" (when he was there) so I'm feeling pretty good. I also got some good suggestiosn of literature to look at (there is very little in my specific area) and on some developments (from my MSc supervisor who will be retiring so can't be a PhD supervisor even though I would have liked her to).

The Head of Dept was also there (and he has interviewed me for a job twice and told me each time that I came a very close second to someone who had a PhD) so I am optimistic about getting a job there at sometime (it's much nearer to where I live than the university I work in)

S

Hi jepsonclough

I am really pleased your presentation went well I hope my presentation next week goes as smoothly!

D

Excellent news! And it'll get easier and easier from now :-)

I think these types of affairs (PhD students presenting to each other) are becoming more and more common to get students used to presenting academically - I had to present my first year and second year work to two departments (thanks to my interdiscplinary topic). Actually that was really good fun - I was used to presenting to mathematicians so presenting to biologists was quite a challenge!

B