Grammar

R

Hi,

I am a Computer Science Graduate currently in my first year of a Physics PhD. My supervisor often asks me to do some written work, for example this week I had to do a book review for the AGU EOS journal. Every time I submit anything to him he comments on my grammar. I was never under the impression that I was that bad, but it takes me so long to write 800 words since I am conscious of it, that I dread to think how long it will take me to write my thesis.

Has anyone else had something similar to this? Especially in the sciences? If so, any ideas of a good book or way of trying to figure out what is going wrong?

Thank you

Rudiga

A

Books by David Crystal are usually interesting. Try 'Rediscover Grammar'.

M

Don't take your supervisor's comments too personally; it is surprising how many grammar mistakes we all make.

To find out where you are going wrong, it would be helpful if you asked your supervisor to red-mark some of your mistakes. He's probably also referring to punctuation mistakes.

I would also recommend David Crystal's books, or downloading the podcast 'Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips' from iTunes.

The most common grammar mistake I come across in my own work or other people's work is forgetting to put an apostrophe in 'it's' (when contracting 'it is'), or even using the very sinful phrase 'could of' instead of 'could have'. It is probably these types of minor mistakes your supervisor is picking up on, and after reading a few grammar books you'll become very eagle-eyed about correcting them.

try reading 'eats shoots and leaves' book - google it, its quite famous. Also, that's what proof readers are for, so maybe hire one, or like me, get your mum to do it, as she went through proper 1950s schooling where they actually explained the difference between subjunctives and past participals!?????

A

Sneaks - past participles not 'pals'. Tut tut!