Having a Heart Attack about being a Seminar Leader

B

======= Date Modified 13 33 2009 16:33:40 =======
Hi chaps, I wonder if anyone can help me?!
I agreed to become a 2nd year Seminar leader as they were getting a bit desperate - I was told that it just involved leading a one hour seminar per week and marking 3 essays per student (there are 9 students) per term. This all sounded fine. However, what I didn't realise til today was that how you spend the seminar is completely up to you (though they have suggested that the students might like a lesson on essay writing, exam essay writing and presentations skills). I think I assumed that there would be a list of things to complete and the materials with which to do it (clearly, this was naive). I have NO teaching experience, and I thought the seminars would be structured. I'm completely bricking it as I have no idea what to do! Also, I don't feel I could "teach" someone how to write an essay - I mean, I can mark them, but I don't know if I could actually take a group through writing one!

Does anyone else have to plan their own seminars?

Oh, I feel very sad at this prospect
:-(

B

Hi Bobby